When announcing tasks in Urbantz, addresses are geocoded (longitude and latitude are added) and information is validated. If an address could not be geocoded or if some of the information received is not as it is supposed to be, we will show you geocoding and validation errors. Before proceeding with planning the corresponding tasks these errors need to be solved.
- Error display
- Geocoding errors
- Validation errors
1. Error display
Geocoding and validation errors are displayed on the Announcements page. The page icon will show you how many errors there are in a circle with red background:
To facilitate solving errors we created filters so that you can focus on solving geocoding and/or validation errors without needing to scroll through several announcement lines. This filter is particularly handy if you have announcements for plenty of hubs and on various days on your platform.
2. Geocoding errors
Geocoding errors appear when Urbantz has not recognized the address you submitted (default confidence threshold below 80%). To correct them, click on the orange "X Geocoding" button at the end of the announcement line.
The next screen will allow you to correct the errors, either by accepting the suggestion Urbantz was able to provide or by looking up the correct address in the search bar.
ℹ️ You can also copy-paste the coordinates of a location straight into the search bar. Coordinates can be found in Google Maps by right-clicking on the particular location you are interested in. A new menu will open, and clicking on the first item of the list will copy the coordinates into your clipboard.
More-over, you will be able to find all Addresses from the Dashboard by going to Administration > Address Book. More about it here: Why and how should I use the address book?
3. Validation errors
Validation errors indicate that the information you uploaded to Urbantz was not in line with the information Urbantz expected. The task will be in progress “announced” instead of “ready”.
By clicking on the "X Validation" button at the end of the announcement line a new window will open:
There will be one line per task and the error message(s) will be shown in the last section of each line, informing you about what is wrong with the task you announced. Clicking on the line will open the task details and allow you to edit it. If you prefer, you can also discard the task and re-announce it with the correct information.